BAHAMAS for the Bahamas and you will find extensive travel and tourism information for Nassau and the islands of New Providence, Abaco, Andros Island, Bimini and Grand Bahamas.

The Bahamas is a coral-based archipelago in the Atlantic Ocean, comprising 700 islands and cays that range from uninhabited to resort-packed. The northernmost, Grand Bahama, and Paradise Island, home to the sprawling Atlantis resort, are among the best known. Scuba diving and snorkeling sites include the massive Andros Barrier Reef, Thunderball Grotto (of James Bond fame) and the black-coral gardens off Bimini.

More than Sun Sea and Sand: Nice People

New Providence island with Bahama's capital Nassau lies about 310 km (193 mi ) off the southern coast of Florida and north of Cuba. The archipelago consists of around 700 islands and islets, and more than 2,000 cays (coral reefs). Just about 30 islands are inhabited. 

Today the Bahamas have become one of the world's foremost vacation resorts. The archipelago attracts more than five times its population in tourists.
Nassau is the political capital and the commercial hub of The Bahamas. Tourism and international banking (offshore finance) and investment management accounts for more than 55% of the country's gross domestic product. The former British colony and now a member of the Commonwealth has also one of the world's largest open-registry shipping fleets.

The Bahamas share maritime borders with: Cuba, Haiti, the United States, and Turks and Caicos Islands (UK).

Capital: Nassau
Dialing code: +1
Currency: Bahamian dollar 1:1 to the USD Population: 377,374 (2013) World Bank
Official language: English